Hubert de Givenchy


20140611-201501-72901424.jpg

Biography: (Citation: “Hubert James Marcel Taffin de Givenchy.” 2014. The Biography.com website. May 09 2014

http://www.biography.com/people/hubert-de-givenchy-37466.)

French fashion designer Hubert de Givenchy is known for his elegant haute couture designs and professional relationships with clients like Audrey Hepburn.

Synopsis
Hubert de Givenchy was born to an aristocratic family in Beauvais, France, on February 21, 1927. After attending art school, he worked for several important fashion designers in Paris. He opened his own design house in 1952 and was immediately praised for his chic, feminine designs. Givenchy’s most famous couture client was actress Audrey Hepburn, who wore his designs inBreakfast at Tiffany’s (1961), among other films.

Family Background
Hubert de Givenchy Marcel Taffin de Givenchy was born on February 21, 1927, in the city of Beauvais in northern France. His parents, Lucien and Béatrice (née Badin) Taffin de Givenchy, gave him and his brother, Jean-Claude, an aristocratic heritage. After Lucien Taffin de Givenchy died in 1930, Givenchy was raised by his mother and his maternal grandmother.

Early Career
In 1944, Hubert de Givenchy moved to Paris, where he studied art at the École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts. Though he briefly considered a career in law, he decided to enter the world of fashion and, at the age of 17, began an apprenticeship with designer Jacques Fath. After his time with Fath, Givenchy worked for several famous French couture houses in the 1940s: Lucien Lelong, Robert Piquet and Elsa Schiaparelli.

House of Givenchy
Givenchy opened his own design house in 1952. His debut collection was a hit. It featured separates such as long skirts and tailored blouses, including the “Bettina blouse,” named after model Bettina Graziani. In his following collections, he also designed elegant evening gowns, feminine hats and tailored suits, and the Givenchy name became synonymous with Parisian chic.

In 1953, Givenchy met Spanish designer Cristóbal Balenciaga, whom he greatly admired. In 1957, the two designers teamed up to introduce a new silhouette called the “sack,” a loose form without any waistline.
By the 1960s, Givenchy, setting new trends and embracing certain aspects of youth culture, had begun to favor shorter hemlines and straighter silhouettes in his designs.

Celebrity Cliets
Givenchy designed for many celebrity clients, but his best-known client (who became a close personal friend) was Audrey Hepburn. Givenchy and Hepburn met in 1953, when she was just a rising star; he designed her costumes for Sabrina(1954) and helped to define her classic, gamine style. Over the following decade, he designed her costumes for Breakfast at Tiffany’s(1961), Charade (1963), Paris When It Sizzles (1964) and How to Steal a Million (1966). The Givenchy brand also released a fragrance inspired by Hepburn called L’Interdit.
Among the other well-known women of style dressed by Givenchy were U.S. first lady Jacqueline Kennedy, who wore a Givenchy gown during an official visit to Paris in 1961; Princess Grace of Monaco; Wallis Simpson, Duchess of Windsor.

Later Life and Retirement
After selling his business to the luxury conglomerate Louis Vuitton Moët Hennessey in 1988, Givenchy designed for seven more years, retiring and presenting his final collection in 1995. He was succeeded as head designer byenfant terrible John Galliano. Designers to later serve as head designer at Givenchy include Alexander McQueen and Riccardo Tisci.

Givenchy lives in retirement at a country estate called Le Jonchet in the French countryside. His work has been shown in retrospective exhibitions at the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York and the Musée Galliera in Paris, and he received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Council of Fashion Designers of America in 1996.

Givenchy pieces available in my Polyvore selections below:)

20140611-201804-73084162.jpg20140611-201804-73084638.jpg

20140611-201805-73085446.jpg

20140611-201803-73083723.jpg

20140611-201805-73085109.jpg

I will be reviewing the Givenchy Spring/Summer 2014 Collection.
Overall Rating: 8.5 out of 10

20140611-201944-73184041.jpg

20140611-201944-73184335.jpg

Concerning the collection as a whole I do have to same that I can kind of see a story behind the clothing and the different themes that were being portrayed. (I will go over theme in a little while) Although probably there, I can’t really see how the collection shows coherence. (I will also go over this in while)
The one thing I really liked is the fact that I can actually see normal people in everyday life wearing at least some of the looks, which I think will be very good for sales. A couple of the dresses I could already envision on a star on the red carpet:)

20140611-202030-73230642.jpg

Now, as I said, I would go over coherence in this collection. I honestly think that even though it’s suddle, I think it is absolutely brilliant how each item goes together with one another! Let me give you an example: In the photo above, each look corresponds to the look right below. The 1st dress suit and the dress below have a similar shade of grey, and the second outfits on the right have a similar shade of beige. Also, notice the red belt and red shoes worn by the model in the bottom right. They go together very well with the pockets on the looks above it! (I don’t know, I just thought that this was a really cool way to pull the whole collection together.)
Two suits above: My favorite part about these two looks is the most obvious: the pockets:) I really like how they are larger and out of the pants, it just makes it look like the main part of the outfit. I also noticed that this is a perfect look for the spring, because of the long pastel coats. Now, it might just be because I love the “going to work in the office” look, but I still really love it:)
The dresses: For the dresses right below the suits, I would first say that the top half is really the best! For the first dress, I really like the suddle use of the colorful fabric that would be used in a later look. I also really love the structure of the top of both dresses. The color on both, is no doubt the focus area. The flowy arm sleaves on the second dress I am pretty sure also go along with looks after it. Concerning the prints, all I can say is that even though I can’t tell right now, I know that they tell a story with the following dress prints:)

20140611-202137-73297774.jpg

Ooookkkaaayyy, so now we are getting to the reason I rated this collection an overall 8.5 out of 10…the fur. It’s not that I’m against people using real fit or anything (Not saying I encourage it in any way, either) but I guess it’s just not my style…at all…
I don’t really know if it’s because I have always favored form-fitting outfits (which this obviously isn’t) or it’s because of the colors that are always either beige or brown or something along those lines that it’s just repetitive whenever a desiger uses it. I dont know, but I just really don’t like it:p

20140611-202224-73344473.jpg

For these three, I just simply like how they look together. The last look in this collage is actually the last look in the show, meaning It would pull all the looks together, which I think it did fairly well on:)
I also quite like the look in the middle. I really like things that are simple and dark sometimes, and I can definatly see this look selling a lot. Whether it’s for a star on the red carpet, a wealthy and fashion forward person, or any successful fashion blogger!

20140611-202312-73392354.jpg

For this look I only have one thing to say and it has nothing to do whatsoever with the clothing, but….doesn’t this model remind you even in the slightest of…Lorde? 😮

20140611-202354-73434061.jpg

This look also reminds me of something: the fire print on the dress must remind you all of: Katniss Everdeen?!! It’s probably why this is my favorite part of the collection, but I also really like the pocket. Not only because they go with the pockets on the suits, but because I personally think that every dress should have pockets:) Like yes, most likely if you’re wearing a dress, you won’t be carrying a lot, because chances are you’re going to a party, but still… Pockets are the best storage!!
Besides this, however I really like the red shoes, leather gloves and the fact that the pockets were orange. It all contributes to the look matching, but at the same time, not too matching.

20140611-202428-73468772.jpg

And this look just confused me:p
It’s not that I didn’t like it, but as I saw it go down the runway I couldn’t help but think: “HOW does this go with the collection!!!”
I don’t know, but anyways hope you enjoyed the post, and you learned a bit you didn’t know about Givenchy, found some items you might want to buy from the brands, or got caught up on his latest show:)
X0X0, Nessa;)

4 thoughts on “Hubert de Givenchy

  1. I don’t concur with almost everything during this published piece, but you will make some excellent things. Either way it totally was a very considered out and excellent study consequently i made a decision I would depart you a remark.

    Like

Replies Anyone?

