How I Dress Up Winter *Guest Post!*


*Hey everyone! Today, I’m really excited to introduce a new guest blogger, so before I start rambling on like I usually do, here is the post!*

Hi guys, my name is Remi, a Melbourne based aspiring writer with a passion for coffee, fashion and all things DIY! A big thank you to Nessa for posting my article! Let me know what you think about it in the comments bellow, and be sure to drop me a line on facebook and twitter.

Just because it’s winter time doesn’t mean you have to stop dressing up. I think that cold weather is not something to be afraid of and a girl just has to work with it and layer layer layer. For me this is the best option when it comes to fall but also winter wear, because I can use my favorite summer pieces and incorporate them into outfits for colder days. Here are some of the things I do to stay fashionable when it’s cold.

Layer it Up:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/fb1/69765621/files/2014/12/img_3611.png
HelloMolly

Who says you have to push your fave pieces to the back of the closet. What will make those summer shorts and flowy t-shirts wearable during winter is pairing it with leggings, cardigans, chunky over-the-knee socks and similar cozy items. The same thing goes for dresses. A lot of girls will just disregard them in the start because they leave your legs bare, but there are so many cute things to pair them with. Of course you can buy winter dresses in fashionable season colors, and maybe even with a festive theme, but one thing that for me goes all year round is a good party dress. It’s never too cold to be fancy and dress up your everyday style, especially if you’re going to a party of some sorts. Just combine it with a dressy winter coat and a pair of warm booties, and you’re good to go.

The common Winter Accessories

Yeah, you guessed it right! Beanies, headbands, gloves, infinity scarves- you name it, I have it, and so do you probably! To be honest, these are why I love winter. Yes, summer is hot light and breezy, but there really is a charm to wrapping yourself up in warm, cozy layers of chunky sweaters and additional knitwear and looking like you came out of someone’s favorite pinterest board. Don’t worry about having too much on- winter is all about staying warm. To spice things up a little bit, you can try some unconventional pieces. For instance, convertible gloves will keep your hands warm, but you can always take the upper part off if you need to use your phone or do something really delicate. I don’t need to tell you about beanies and infinity scarves! Those have become massively popular in the past few years, and I think it’s mostly because they are so easy and effortless and yet such fashionable pieces. Beanies have made such a crossing from street style to really fashionable pieces, with all sorts of models, embellished with crystals, witty quotes, etc. Another great thing about these is that they are so easy to customize or DIY. Pinterest is full of easy step by step tutorials that have inspired a bunch of infinity scarves that now hang in my closet, so if I can do it, so can you!

Statement Jewelry

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/fb1/69765621/files/2014/12/img_3612.png
The Urban Diva

Whereas I like simpler, discrete jewelry in the summer, I think winter is the perfect time to bring out those beautiful chunky pieces that just stand out on their own. Even one necklace is enough to bring your whole outfit together, and I just think it looks gorgeous peeking underneath an infinity scarf.

These were just some of my tips on style, but it is all an individual characteristic. Work with different styles and patterns, colors and you will find what best suits you.

Replies Anyone?

