20 Reasons I Need Feminism…And Why You Should Too


   

 (Image Source:Huffington Post)

You know, I think it’s not the fact that so many say we don’t need feminism, that really disappoints me every time, but it’s the simple notion that (a sadly large amount) of men don’t believe in equality. Now, if you ask a man, in say…a poll this question: Do you think all people are equal”, I bet that the vast majority would say yes…without a doubt. However, when asked if they identified as a feminist, they would deny the idea as a silly inclination, saying only women can be feminists, almost…offended, to hear the word “feminism” as if it were some radical idea. I don’t know…I guess it’s just so disappointing that by this age, as much as we have accomplished, there is still a long way to go. 

So, why do we need feminism? 
  
(giphy.com)
Because in every occupational field, women are still being payed much less than men…for the same labor. 
Because although women make up half of the worlds population, only 20% of the Congress represents us.
Because, feminism encourages a woman to be in control of her own life, make her own choices: whether  it’s the workforce or homemaking: because it recognized a woman’s power to do both. 
Because 70% of women in the U.S. workforce are mothers, and yet we have no national paid leave child care policy. The U.S is the only major industrialized nation without paid family leave. Why is this?
Because, worldwide, more girls have been killed in the last fifty years, precisely because they were girls, than men were killed in all the wars of the twentieth century.
Because feminism encourages you-not as a woman-but as a human being-to look and behave  in a way you feel comfortable. To not be restricted in a stereotype. 

Because the stereotype is causing women to form unhealthy ideals they think they should meet, only because the media portrays them as ” not good enough”

Because in only about four minutes, 100 women will be victims of domestic violence. 

Because in only the last five years, more girls were killed than all men in all wars combined…simply because they were women. 
Because women in all countries should have the freedom to pursue an education, and not be threatened with violence for doing so.
Because patriarchy is alive an in our society today…it’s everywhere.
Because women should be respected and not treated as a man’s property…like giving up your last name in marriage. First your fathers, then husbands property…now does that seem right?
Because we don’t want to lose our rights we worked so hard to finally receive. 
Because women with dreams and ambitions should not be looked down upon as simply a hopeless dreamer.
Because we shouldn’t feel obligated to achieve a certain beauty standard, men don’t have to worry about. 
Because only 29% of women identify as a feminist: now explain to me: how are we subordinate to men? Really? 
Because people have a negative image the media portrays of feminists as man-hating and masculine-looking: there is no “look”
Because when a woman is a victim of rape, she is seen as the one at fault. That they…should have been more careful. 
Because our society is leaving a bleak future for women in generations to come.
And finally, 
Because why should we allow our gender to determine our futures? 
This is why I need feminism. Why women all over the world need feminism. How about you? Feel free to comment below. 
It’s 2015: It’s time we realize gender equality. 
13 thoughts on “20 Reasons I Need Feminism…And Why You Should Too

  1. Well, I agree with much of what you’ve said, except the part about giving up your last name… Its completely optional. No woman has to. In many countries they don’t. When I was married I took my husbands last name to identify that we were one, despite our separateness. Now divorced, I have taken back my maiden name. But I never use my last name, except for international travel, or legal documents. I love the concept of feminism where pertaining to equality in work, and even more so with respect to basic human rights… But that’s not true feminism, that’s human rights… When the feminist movement erupted, it was about being a mans equal. I am distinctly female, beautiful in a way separate and unique from a man. Men are not better than us, but they do have different strengths. Those strengths complement a woman’s, and the two working together become an unstoppable and powerful team. I work in a third world country where women are bought and sold like cattle, are married off and made moms when they should be in school, so I believe in HUMAN RIGHTS, but not necessarily feminism. Feminism has mostly robbed us of what it truly means to be uniquely female. Also, me not being a feminist does not render me subordinate to men. Far from it. I don’t believe in gender equality, because men and women are distinctly different, created for different functions. I appreciate both genders for their unique strengths. I am woman, and no man is like me, and I am certainly like no man. All that being said, women are acosted at the hands of men all over the world, and that DOES need to stop. The question is, what are you doing to help those women? I am here in Africa fighting to teach women their value, fighting to change cultural norms that say women are less than, or that they are simply property. The gross exaggeration that taking a husband’s last name somehow makes one subordinate spits in the face of these women who are sold for a few cattle, goats, chickens, and sodas. I advise all you young women to visit a third world country where women are truly oppressed. And for wisdom sake, don’t go alone, because you are probably not as strong as a man, and it could get you hurt thinking that you are. Men, when they are functioning as they were created to, are meant to be protectors and providers, because those are their strengths. There is so much more I could say to you all about this, but I have already said more than I intended.

    Respectfully yours,
    Jackelyn

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow that’s certainly a different perspective I hadn’t thought of before, and I have to say that I completely understand what you mean. I guess when you live in the US, you seem to exaggerate your own “first world problems” and forget about what’s happening in other countries. Thank you for sharing your viewpoint, as I can now see to what extent this really is important. I like how you said it was “human rights” and not feminism. (And I understand that taking your husbands last name is not that big of a deal) So, thank you: you basically helped me grow up<3

      Liked by 1 person

    2. And to answer your question about what I’m doing to help? Well, I just turned 16, and I’m not really in the position to travel to these countries and truly make a difference. (My parents would never let me!) So, I do the best I can and write articles for awareness, so others who are older and want to make a change…can. I think it’s amazing what you are doing to spread awareness, and I hope
      I could do the same someday, and absolutely plan to.

      XOXO, Nessa

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sister, start by making a difference in your school, your community, get involved in little things now so that when it is time to go abroad, you have a set of skills already developed. You can make a difference where you are 🙂 I started at homeless shelters in Seattle, volunteering at my local food bank, and helping out in senior citizen centers. You could also donate blood.

        Watch the documentary called Girl Rising. You will love it! Also, look into a girl name Malala. Her book is called I Am Malala. You are not too young to make a difference, you have great potential!!! Don’t buy into the lie that you have to be “older” to make a difference, because you already matter, and you ARE a GREAT writer! I love your passion when you write, and I also love your willingness to learn from the experience of others. You’re going to go far sister!!! Bless you!!!!!
        -Jackelyn

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you so much for all of the advice! It’s very much appreciated, and I’ll certainly try to be more involved from now on. (Probably starting tomorrow since I go on spring break!)
          Oh and I have read and know the story about Malala (one of the most-if not THE most-inspiring books I’ve ever read), and I’m currently in a service club:) and hope to be more involved soon!

          XOXO, Nessa

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m working on beginning a feminist club at my school and your post only solidified my interest in doing it. I may get a lot of crap in the long run, but I’m sure it will all be worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

Replies Anyone?

