Finding Your Blogging Voice


In a way I am writing this to help myself as well…and another part of me wonders if I have already found my blogging voice. When do you know you have? When you sound genuine? I think I do…but you see, I think the most important thing to remember if your struggling to find a voice for your blog: is to stop worrying. Don’t stress out. If you are focusing on how you sound, rather than the quality of your content, it will not come out as good as if you just stop worrying about that aspect. So, that’s something I would like to focus on today.

*This post is mostly for my fellow blogger friends, so sorry readers if this is a bit irrelevant to what you’re used to seeing. Fashion-related posts coming up soon!*

When I first started blogging, the first thing I did was look up: how to find your blogging voice. Although the information given to me was extremely helpful, I took it way to seriously. I began to worry about how I worded everything. And the results? Well, my posts were…bland. They lacked personality, insight into detail, my own opinions…it was boring. That’s the last thing I want my blog to be.

So, what did I do next? I dropped the idea of finding my blogging voice, because I was simply discouraged. I didn’t want to bother trying anymore, and instead I focused on my content. Now, there is nothing wrong about this: But I knew I could still improve. My posts got longer, more detailed and had more personality. But, they seemed way to structured and not…natural. 

I wasn’t pleased.

This pattern of trying new methods of writing styles, format…everything really: went on for around five months. I’ve had this blog for almost a year now, and I am finally pleased with my writing style: no style at all. Something unique. Because the thing is: yes, you are unique and need your own voice, but you’ll never truly find it. Why? Because you’re unique from yourself as well. 

Yeah, that doesn’t sound like it makes much sense.

But it does. Every day you grow as a person, you learn and experience new things, you mature. Don’t blog as you from last year because you liked how you sounded! Be true to yourself and readers will know the you are being genuine about what you are talking about. And it’s so simple to do this: write like you are talking. 

That’s what I do:)

I write everything as I think..longform. It may sound a bit daunting at first thought on writing a whole post in one go, but trust me: it’s easier than it sounds…way easier. (And you can always edit it, as you read it!) 

So, it’s that simple. It’s what worked for me, and  as helpful as I thought the tips I received my first day as a blogger…didn’t work for me. Everyone’s different. Hopefully, my tips help you a bit as well:)

Any blogging tips you want to share? Feel free to comment below!     #obsessedwithyourcomments  

XOXO, Nessa:)

5 thoughts on “Finding Your Blogging Voice

  1. I always find that it is so much easier to write as I think as well. Sometimes I spend ages on a post, sometimes I get one posted in about 30 mins. It depends how interesting it is. It took me a while to find my voice, because I was being too careful with what I said and I kept editing myself 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes! I always feel so bad when I’m reading a great blog post but the tone sounds soooo dry! Your blog should sound like having a conversation with a friend, not like a speech. It can take a while for some people to develop that though, so I think this is such a helpful post.

    Liked by 1 person

Replies Anyone?

