When Architecture Inspires…


  I’ve always looked to nature for inspiration when I’m trying to design a fashion collection. (Granted, I only draw it, and then never create it). However, I guess it just dawned on me that I’ve never even considered how architecture can be of such an inspiration, as I thought while I scrolled down the usual photos on my Pinterest. So, I sought to change this, and finally began to research. And what I found? Amazed me. Seriously. Who knew there was such a great field of art waiting for me to discover that I never gave a second thought to? 

I began to research different types of architecture from different time periods: Bahaus, Art Deco, Baroque, Neo-Classical and basically everything under the sun. (Ok, maybe not everything.) I found that I was most intrigued by the aged-abandoned city look, focusing on the rustic details on doors, windows and other exteriors. It’s amazing how you are instantly inspired when you look at architecture. When I think of drawing my next fashion collection, I now have a clearer view than ever before on where to go with my inspirations and how to translate in into my vision and aesthetic. 

Here are some of the photos I was inspired by: 

   

I have such a clear picture of what I would like my final clothing pieces to look like, and I haven’t even drawn a single sketch yet! But, I guess that’s how you know that you’ve done enough research. So, on to the fun part: drawing the collection. I hope to share my final drawings in a couple of week, so stay tuned for that:)

(Oh, and of course shoutout to my *mother* for helping my put my art desk together, where I’ll be drawing this collection on!)

 
Thanks for reading! 

XOXO, Nessa

(Almost forget! If you would like to see a room tour, comment below and I’ll be sure to remember to post it!)  

Replies Anyone?

