DIY: How To Naturally Lighten Your Hair


Ive been wanting to dye my hair purple for the longest time now, and I have now come to terms with the fact that my hair is just too dark to simple paint over it with any bright colors. However, I didnt want to have to damage my hair with bleach, and spend hundreds on expensive touch ups. So, I decided to do a bit of research on how I could lighten my hair with no harmful chemicals, to use as a base for my dream hair! So, if you ever wanted a healthier alternative to hair lightening, then read on:)

  Here are the different things you will need for this DIY: a small bowl, a towel, honey, cinnamon, olive oil, conditioner, water, a comb, and some hair ties. 

  First, make sure that your clothing is covered and protected from the lightener before you start. You can wear a big tee that you don’t mind using, or you can wear a towel on top and tie it at the front like I chose. 

  First start by taking some honey (the amount will depend on the amount of hair you would like to lighten), I would suggest 3 tablespoons.

  Add some cinnamon to the mixture (about an even amount to the honey)

  Add in some olive oil. This will make the mixture much easier to apply, evening out the amount of peroxide the honey contains. (This is what lightens your hair.)

This is how the mixture should look after mixing and adding a very small amount of water.

 After mixing, add some conditioner to soften your hair. This will help so that the stickyness of the honey won’t tangle your hair.)

After your mixture is complete, comb out your hair and tie it into sections to make applying easier.    

  After applying the mixture, throw on a towel, as the olive oil tends to drip more than stick to your hair.

  Then, wait 30 minutes before washing your hair. However, this part is really important: do 30 minutes and you won’t see results after many weeks. However, it is much healthier for your hair. Many choose to leave it on overnight, and this will still leave your hair healthy and give you faster results. I personally, chose somewhat in the middle, and I left it on for an hour and a half. 
 And here are the results! This is after washing the hair out, drying it out and waiting a full day for the lightening to come in. The only thing I would say though, is that it only colored the outside of my hair, and the change is only visible in the light. Still, I can see that natural lightening takes time. However, if you are aiming for the least damaging method, here is one I hope you find helpful! 

Let me know what you all think in the comments below! ❤

  

Replies Anyone?

