NYFW Review: BCBG Max Azria    


  To kick of my reviews this fashion week, I decided on beginning with BCBG Max Azria. So, let’s get started! 

So, the first thought that came through my mind when the first looks began to walk the runway was: “Boho-chic”. And rightfully so, as after the show and a bit of pre-research, I found that this was the trend that BCBG really wanted to capture this season. In any department and mainstream store you walk into lately, boho is certainly the standout style this year, and from the debut, I think it’s safe to assume that this trend is not going anywhere for quite some time.

What I love particularly about these looks are the girly vibe each clothing item has on its own. Every piece is very versatile and easily whereable for an every day look, but still keeps its chic designer finish. I’ve personally been into boho lately, and honestly I never really felt that this label coincided with my own style…but this season gave me a new perspective for the ever-evolving brand..and needless to say, I love their re-invented aesthetic and can only hope that it continues through their next season. 
  

Perhaps favorite look was the middle photo, above. I absolutely love the cut of the blouse, and the sinching at the wrists with this very thin and semi-translucent fabrics give the look a very playful yet feminine look. I also enjoyed seeing the return of these leg-warmer inspire socks, yet another aspect of BCBG’s 70’s inspiration. 

Oh, and the bucket hats. Can we just take a moment to talk about them? Love it. Seriously. And the funny thing is, I always considered the shape of these hats to seem a bit childish, but somehow, I really loved these.

Anyways, I feel like these looks will defiantly resurface by the time coachella rolls around again, as these looks truly compliment the California laid/back summer style. (A destination Lubov Azria was herself was inspired by for this collection). So, get ready to see a lot of bucket hats, leg warmers and Aztec prints very soon!

Although this collection was no-doubt a California inspired lineup, I couldn’t help but be drawn to these three looks above. I was very happy to see a darker and more colorful side to BCBG’s usual all-while and neutral color pallete. It was a very refreshing difference, and I think that this move really widens the market for more girls that are more edgy and love the peices above such as this beautiful gold blazer and  oversized Aztec-printed outerwear number. 

Overall, the inspiration and laid back summer feel was perfectly captured in this collection, and with a widened color pallete and daring old trend-redesigns, I think really made this lineup one worth looking forward to. 

Rating: ⚫️⚫️⚫️⚫️⚪️ (4/5 stars) 

What would you rate this collection? I would love to hear what you thought! Leave it in the comments below, also let me know what other NYFW show you guys would like me to review next! New fashion show reviews coming soon!  

 

One thought on “NYFW Review: BCBG Max Azria    

Replies Anyone?

